Only Senioritis? Please, I’m suffering from Everythingsucksitis!

Fwends, Hello.  Long time, no talk, no log-in, no care… I promise, it’s not you, it’s me.

Life’s been BAD.  School’s been DRAB.  And I, Bun, am DONE.

A month or so ago, I was rushed to the emergency room in the middle of my English class after breaking into a cold sweat.  When the medics arrived on scene, I was crouched in the corner, full-on fetal position, mumbling to myself “So… boring.  So… pointless.”  They had found in my shaking hands, sweaty and crumpled “Macbeth” (I’d written “McDonalds”) notes written in red, restaurant grade crayon.  I regained conciousness in the doctor’s office, where he was speaking quietly with my parents in the doorway.

“Mr. and Mrs. Bun’s Parents, I’m afraid that your daughter… has a serious case of Senioritis.”

Sad in the Rain (Doctor Who)

Utter devastation.  Through my entire highschool career, I had told myself that it would never happen- that I would fight it.  But I’ve failed myself.  I am suffering from Senioritis.  

Senioritis isn’t as much of a disease as it is a state of fed-upedness.  I’m tired of waking up at the crack of dawn to head to my zero period class!  I’m tired of studying things that will never pertain to everyday life (logarithms anyone?)!  I’m sick of bubling in A, B, C, or D (Sometimes E).  The list goes on and on…

I’ve learned more in these four years of highschool than I have in my entire life so far (hey, I’m only 18).  In such a short time, I’ve grown smarter and harder.  Here’s my opinion of the blatant truth:  Public highschool is a system, and you must learn how to beat it.  I truly believe that I could have avoided Senioritis if I had known the cold truths of highschool, rather than have the realization later on, with no way to correct the past.

So to help all of you younger fwends (or maybe even those my age who want to nod along), I’ve compiled a list of genuine tips on how to conquer this high school system.  Educator’s aside, parents aside, cheesy wiki-how articles aside, this is advice from a REAL student who’s almost finished, and I really want to help you!  

#1:  YOU ARE A NUMBER!

Look around during lunch time and try to count all the students.  I bet you failed.  It’s okay, we all do.  Every single person around you expects the same benefits out of the school system as you do.  However, the school CANNOT provide for everyone.  Matter of factly, the school system is perfectly fine with giving everyone the bare minimum.  That being said, you have to go out of your way, sometimes even kicking and screaming, in order to get what you want.

#2:  FIGHT FOR YOUR CLASSES

Our guidence councelors are nice people, no doubt about it.  This being said, they will be quick to dismiss your interests and passions for many of the following reasons: a) They need to balance out the class number, and you just so happen to be the chosen student to drop.  b) You don’t meet the “ever so mandatory” requirements for the class (even if you’re far more passionate about the subject than the kid who meets the requirements, yet falls asleep in class every day…) c) Your schedule is too difficult for them to organize because some class periods overlap, and there is absolutely no way around the problem.  Lies.  Fight for the classes you want, email the vice principle if you have to, get your parents involved; this is your education.  Make the guidence councelors work for you.

#3: HATE THE CLASS?  TELL THE TEACHER!  HATE THE TEACHER?  TELL THE TEACHER!

We all have those classes which we hate, from the bottom of our hearts.  Sometimes, you cannot stand the boring environment or subject.  Maybe you feel like the only student struggling to grasp the material in an ocean full of competetive intellectuals.  Instead of sitting around, calling yourself stupid or feeling sorry for yourself, communicate with the teacher!  Teachers will respect the fact that you are struggling to focus or need extra help/study techniques, etc. and will go out of their way to help you.

Now say you have  a teacher whom you loathe, or that loathes you.  You may try your hardest to volunteer and do homework, only to be rewarded with a “Meh, alright…” while the underachieving, yet charming class clown is rewarded with glorious praise and, *gasp*, a superior grade to yours!  Maybe you walk into a class, stomach bubbling with anxiety because you feel so uncomfortable under your teacher’s gaze of death (dramatic, yes, but I’ve no doubt felt this way, once upon a time).  Get some guts, and TELL YOUR TEACHER!  Now don’t be a snob about it, just communicate with all honestly the way which you feel.  Ask for ways you can improve in their class or for ways to adjust your own attitude to suit their interests.  I can nearly guarantee that your teacher will take your maturity into consideration and work with you to improve your relationship.

The worst thing you can do is sit around feeling sorry for yourself.  Simple teacher-student communication solves a lot of problems.

#4: Don’t Put in More Effort Than You Have To

I’m sure many of you are familiar with the technique of “B.S-ing”, and let me tell you, it is a wonderful, wonderful thing.  If you know exactly how to do your math homework, then why take the time to do busy work?  Especially when your teacher only gives it a quick glance, then a stamp for completion.  This goes with all subjects.  If you are confident that you know the subject matter, then do yourselves a favor and B.S it!  Responsibility is a given, but so is time management!

#5: Your Friends are your Biggest Competition

You can try to weed around this one all you want, but this is the very sad truth.  So you and your buddies walk to class together.  Whenever the teacher announces group project, you all squeal in delite and send your secret-code winks at each other from across the room.  You save seats for each other during assemblies.  This is all fun and dandy, yes, but who is it that’s going to be competing against you during senior year college application time?  Your friends.

Now before you get all gung ho on me, try to think this out rationally.  If you consider yourself a competetive student, chances are you’ve surrounded yourself with a couple of cunning commerades.  As your friends, they have the ability to watch every move you make towards your education during your highschool career.  Maybe they call you up a couple days before a big project due date and ask to see how you decorated your poster.  Perhaps your group traded schedules at the beginning of the year and compared classes.  What if after you’ve taken a major exam, a friend asks you to feed them the details over lunch, so when they take it, they’ll have an advantage?  Think about this everyone, your friends are your biggest competetors, and although you’ve entitled them with a badge of unconditional trust, it doesn’t change the fact that you’re racing against each other for many future opportunities.

This does not mean you need to go commando, put up the forcefields, and remove your friends from your life.  No.  What I strongly recommend is that you get smart, and protect yourself from feeding your competetors (anyone, not just your friends) too much important and personal information about how you are molding your education and highschool career.  Simple as that.

(Friendship is undoubtably a magical part of highschool.  Don’t disregard this point, but don’t forget it.)

Alright then, there you go.  You may choose to take what I’ve stated with a grain of salt, or with dire seriousness, I don’t care.  However, I really tried to provide you all with honest advice about how to conquer this whole highschool ordeal.  I truly believe that figuring the whole thing out and breaking the stereotype here or there may be able to save a couple of you from completely burning out of the routine.  Senioritis isn’t something that you must suffer with at the end of the four years.  BEAT IT!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRdxUFDoQe0 (For inspiration)

Thanks for reading, BUN OUT! x

p.s., Did you like my post (which i finally got around to)?  I want to hear what you guys think about my advice.  Do you agree, disagree?  Have you figured out any tips or tricks to beat the highschool system?  Share ’em!  

Leave a Reply

